March 28, 2023

Arkansas Tech College elects Jim Smith board chairman

Arkansas Tech College introduced Thursday (Jan. 19) the election of Fayetteville legal professional Jim Smith as chairman of the ATU Board of Trustees.

Gov. Asa Hutchinson appointed Smith to a five-year board time period in January 2019. His time period as chairman is for the 2023 calendar 12 months.

In response to a college information launch, Smith is a Russellville native and a 1991 ATU honor graduate with a level in accounting. The college chosen Smith as the highest scholar within the ATU Faculty of Enterprise in 1991, and he was a member of the 1988 Arkansas Intercollegiate Convention champion Marvel Boys baseball group.

Smith earned a Juris Physician from the College of Arkansas Faculty of Regulation in Fayetteville and a Grasp of Regulation diploma in taxation from the New York College Faculty of Regulation. He started his profession working in company and tax regulation at Friday Eldredge & Clark for nearly twenty years earlier than co-founding Smith Hurst in Northwest Arkansas in 2011.

Smith’s neighborhood service has included work on behalf of the Arkansas Financial Improvement Fee, the Fayetteville Chamber of Commerce, the Fayetteville Group Basis, the Arkansas Rice Depot, Large Brothers and Large Sisters of Northwest Arkansas, the Northwest Arkansas Museum Basis and the Northwest Arkansas Symphony.

A previous president of the ATU Alumni Affiliation, Smith was the primary individual inducted into the Arkansas Tech Corridor of Distinction underneath the Excellent Younger Alumnus class when he acquired that honor in 2001.

Different Arkansas Tech Board of Trustees officers for 2023 are Len Cotton of Dardanelle, vice chairman, and Invoice Clary of Conway, secretary. They’re joined on the board by Michael Lamoureux of Russellville.

See also  HealthTech Arkansas, VC agency companion on biotherapeutics accelerator

Gov. Sarah Sanders will appoint the fifth ATU Board of Trustees member for 2023. That appointee will succeed Stephanie Duffield of Russellville, who was board chairman in 2022.

In different enterprise on Thursday, the ATU Board of Trustees accepted:

  • Letters of notification from the ATU Faculty of Enterprise and Financial Improvement in regards to the institution of a Certificates of Proficiency in on line casino and gaming trade, a Technical Certificates in on line casino and gaming trade and Graduate Certificates in enterprise administration, enterprise knowledge analytics and digital advertising and marketing at ATU
  • A letter of notification from the ATU Faculty of Arts and Humanities in regards to the deletion of ATU’s Grasp of Science diploma in psychology
  • An easement to the Metropolis of Russellville for the ATU property positioned on Crimson Hill Lane that grants full easement rights for the aim of putting in, establishing, working, inspecting, sustaining, repairing and/or eradicating a drainage system, sidewalk, highway widening and for the usage of stated sidewalk
  • The phrases and situations of a voluntary worker retirement incentive that might be provided to eligible ATU school and workers
  • Up to date bylaws for the ATU Athletics Corridor of Fame
  • Adoption of an annual decision authorizing expense reimbursement for board members per Act 1211 of 1995.